Angel Olsen – All Mirrors //Jagjaguwar// (Released 4th October)


Share this:

£21.99 – Limited Edition Crystal Clear Vinyl 2xLP

£21.99 – Standard 2xLP

The descent into darkness is a trope we find time again across history, literature and film. But there’s also an abyss above. There’s a winding white staircase that goes ever upward into the great unknown – each step, each turn, requiring a greater boldness and confidence than the one before. This is the journey on which we find Angel Olsen.

Olsen’s artistic beginnings as a collaborator shifted seamlessly to her magnificent, cryptic-to-cosmic solo work, and then she formed bands to play her songs, and her stages and audiences grew exponentially. But all along, Olsen was more concerned with a different kind of path, and on her vulnerable, new album, All Mirrors, we can see her taking an introspective deep dive towards internal destinations and revelations. In the process of making this album, she found a new sound and voice, a blast of fury mixed with hard won self-acceptance.

“In every way – from the making of it, to the words, to how I feel moving forward – this record is about owning up to your darkest side” says Olsen. “Finding the capacity for new love and trusting change, even when you feel like a stranger. This is a record about facing yourself and learning to forgive what you see. It is about losing empathy, trust, love for destructive people. It is about walking away from the noise and realizing that you can have solitude and peace in your own thoughts, that your thoughts alone can be just as valid, if not more”.


A1. Lark

A2. All Mirrors

B1. Too Easy

B2. New Love Cassette

B3. Spring

C1. What It Is

C2. Impasse

C3. Tonight

D1. Summer

D2. Endgame

D3. Chance


Limited Edition Crystal Clear Vinyl 2xLP, Standard 2xLP