ART BLAKEY & THE JAZZ MESSENGERS - "THE BIG BEAT" (2021 RE-ISSUE) //Decca/Blue Note Classics// (Released 19th November)




£21.99 – 1xLP, Analog Mastered, Limited Edition Vinyl

Art Blakey’s 1960 hard bop classic The Big Beat introduced one of the greatest line-ups of The Jazz Messengers with the legendary drummer joined by trumpeter Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter, pianist Bobby Timmons, and bassist Jymie Merritt. Three of the six tunes here were composed by Shorter including “Lester Left Town,” but the album is best-known for an unforgettable version of Timmons’ enduring hit “Dat Dere”. This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


  1. The chess players
  2. Sakeena’s vision
  3. Politely
  4. Dat dere
  5. Lester left town
  6. It’s only a paper moon


Additional information

Weight N/A

1xLP Limited Edition Vinyl