Free shipping on all orders over £60

Band Of Skulls - Love Is All You Love //So Recordings// (Released 12th April)




£19.99 – Indies Only Red Coloured Vinyl LP

£18.99 – Standard LP

Southampton’s Band Of Skulls fifth album release, Love Is All You Love, is the follow-up to 2016’s By Default. The new album was produced by Richard X and was recorded in London’s Miloco Studios, The Smoakstack studio in Nashville, and in the Southampton studio of Band Of Skulls founder members’ Russell Marsden (guitar, vocals) and Emma Richardson (bass, vocals). Following the amicable departure of drummer Matt Hayward, Russell and Emma started the writing process for the record in 2017 and quickly accumulated a host of new songs. It was a free and experimental process mixing electronic and live instruments, working quickly, getting ideas down, then moving on.

Work then switched to The Toyshop studio at Miloco to collaborate with Richard X, known for his innovative production with artists from Pet Shop Boys to Goldfrapp to Sugababes, whose “Freak Like Me” was one of the standout singles of the 2000s. Richard X encouraged Band Of Skulls new spirit of experimentation, pushing the combination of live and electronic as mixing the two was creating interesting dynamics. Once the writing was complete the band decamped to Nashville to record the live element of the record with Eagles Of Death Metal’s Julian Dorio on drums.

All these elements added a heavy punch and power to Love Is All You Love, especially on the unrelenting “Carnivorous” and short sharp shock of “That’s My Trouble”. “Cool Your Battles” is more widescreen, while “We’re Alive” has a heavy dance pulse with a touch of melancholy. The song “Love Is All You Love” focuses on the groove and keeps the feel of when they tracked it live in Nashville. This song in particular seems to encapsulate the sentiment of the whole record.

“This record is tough and tender with a rebellious spirit”, say Emma and Russell. “It is a positive record. It looks to what is possible and how a little love and human kindness can help bring about positive change. We drew on personal experiences, changes in our situation, and couldn’t help but be affected by what has been going on in the world politically, culturally and environmentally. Attempting to overcome that sometimes powerless feeling by creating and connecting with people and making something new”.


A1. Carnivorous

A2. That’s My Trouble

A3. Love Is All You Love

A4. Not The Kind Of Nothing

A5. Cool Your Battles

B1. Sound Of You

B2. Thanks A Lot

B3. We’re Alive

B4. Speed Of Light

B5. Gold

Additional information


Indies Only Red Coloured Vinyl LP, Standard LP