Bauhaus - Press Eject And Give Me The Tape //Beggars Banquet// (Released 23rd November)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£16.99 – White Coloured Vinyl LP

Formed in 1978, late 2018 will mark the 40th anniversary of Bauhaus. To celebrate, the band are reissuing six records from the band’s catalogue on limited edition coloured vinyl. The legendary and hugely influential quartet hailed from Northampton, England and is comprised of Peter Murphy, Daniel Ash, David J and Kevin Haskins. The dark, dramatic music that they made, possessed far more force, variety and playfulness than the “founding fathers of goth” tag that is always attached to them.

Bauhaus’ landmark debut album, In The Flat Field, came out towards the end of 4AD’s first eventful year. Following the plan at the time, the band then “moved upstairs” to Beggars Banquet, for whom they cut three further albums before dissolving in 1983. They charted with their cover of David Bowie’s “Ziggy Stardust”, they’ve been and namechecked by everyone from Nine Inch Nails, Sepultura, Janes Addiction, MGMT, Interpol, Bjork, Nirvana and more. They remain a huge cult concern, periodically reforming to wow their legions of dedicated followers.

The band’s members continue to make new music. Peter Murphy enjoys a successful solo career, Love And Rockets consisted of Daniel Ash, David J and Kevin Haskins. Tones On Tail was comprised of Daniel Ash and Kevin Haskins. Poptone is a retrospective project, featuring Daniel Ash, Kevin Haskins and his daughter Diva Dompé, revisiting the music of Bauhaus, Tones on Tail, and Love and Rockets.

Released in 1982, Press Eject And Give Me The Tape is a live album, compiled from shows across the UK from 1981-82. The album features a striking version of John Cale’s “Rosegarden Funeral Of Sores”, a particularly spooky run-through of “Hollow Hills” that out-creeps the studio version on Mask, and the punk rock fuzz-out of “Dark Entries”. Of course, “Bela…” appears here as well, in a luxurious nine-and-a-half-minute version. Washed in feedback and ever-so subtly accelerating and decelerating, this song is the true centre of “Goth” mythology. This was mastered from HD audio files transferred from the original tapes.



  1. In the Flat Field (Live @ The Old Vic, London)
  2. Rose Garden Funeral of Sores (Live @ The Old Vic, London)
  3. Dancing (Live @ The Royal Court, Liverpool)
  4. The Man with X-Ray Eyes (Live @ Hammersmith Palais, London)
  5. Bela Lugosi Is Dead (Live @ The Old Vic, London)
  6. The Spy in the Cab (Live @ The Royal Court, Liverpool)
  7. Kick in the Eye (Live @ The Royal Court, Liverpool)
  8. In Fear of Fear (Live @ The Royal Court, Liverpool)
  9. Hollow Hills (Live @ The Old Vic, London)
  10. Stigmata Martyr (Live @ The Royal Court, Liverpool)
  11. Dark Entries (Live @ The Royal Court, Liverpool)
  12. Terror Couple Kill Colonel (Live @ Le Rose Bon, Paris)
  13. Double Dare (Live @ Le Rose Bon, Paris)
  14. In the Flat Field (Live @ Le Rose Bon, Paris)
  15. Hair of the Dog (Live @ Le Rose Bon, Paris)
  16. Of Lilies and Remains (Live @ Le Rose Bon, Paris)
  17. Waiting for the Man (Live @ Fagins, Manchester)

Additional information


White Coloured Vinyl LP