BING & RUTH - "SPECIES" //4ad// (Released 17th July)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£23.99 – 2xLP

Bing & Ruth, the ever-evolving project helmed by New York composer David Moore, has announced details of a new album,  Species,  its  7 tracks,  running to 49 minutes.

While on a surface level, Species is an exploration of the sonic possibilities of the Farfisa organ, aided only by a clarinet and double bass (played respectively by founding members Jeremy Viner and Jeff Ratner), the title Species is a nod to both humanity and humility – a devotion to the godly intuition with which we are all endowed, and the humbleness required of us to perceive it. It’s also about suspended time and trance; not just a steady movement from A to B, but as something that flows, meanders and eddies, like water.

Species, and the transcendental state it embodies, was inspired by two recent loves of Moore’s: the desert and long-distance running. Briefly relocating from his New York base to Point Dume, between the Pacific Ocean and the desert, Moore was able to indulge in both passions, which in turn provided stimulus for new work. He says,

“I’d found myself in places unfamiliar enough that I could easily lose all sense of direction, size and, more than anything, all sense of time. The music I was making became a kind of reflection of these intentional detachments – and a place to mirror that feeling of trance that had pushed them out in the first place.”


  1. Body in a room
  2. Badwater psalm
  3. I had no dream
  4. Blood harmony
  5. Live forever
  6. The pressure of this water
  7. Nearer

Additional information


2 LP & DL Code