Bonobo – Fabric Presents: Bonobo //Fabric// (Released 22nd February)


Share this:

£21.99 – 2xLP

Ushering in an exciting new era for the label, nightclub and mix series, Bonobo (Simon Green) opens the Fabric Presents series that pledges vinyl releases on a quarterly basis. His highly textural aesthetic translates into an ethos that looks to introduce a more open musical palette without losing sight of its past.

A fitting testament to Fabric‘s broadened musical horizon, Bonobo is an artist who cuts across electronic music categorisation. He started out exploring elements of instrumental hip-hop, electronica and ambient with live instrumentation, before going on to work with a sea of collaborators ranging from Erykah Badu and Andreya Triana to Rhye and Nick Murphy. His highly textural aesthetic translates seamlessly from an orchestrated live show to sought-after DJ gigs, which lend to his status as a tastemaker and affords him a loyal following around the world.

This 2xLP package features 15 tracks from Bonobo’s opening mix for the new Fabric Presents series. They are the full unmixed versions, including both Bonobo’s exclusive tracks, “Ibrik” and “Flicker”, plus his “Boston Common” cut, previously limited to vinyl only. Other new tracks from the mix that make the vinyl grade include Dan Kye‘s “Focus”, Throwing Snow‘s “Rheged”, and R. Lyle‘s “Perpetrator”.

The compilation reflects Green’s penchant for both expansive combinations of mixed musical elements and intricate structures. He uses the multi-instrumental arrangements of his own work as the basic structure on which to build a narrative across 74 minutes of house, techno, electronica and breakbeat.


A1. Bonobo – Flicker [Unreleased]

A2. Poté – Jacquot (Waters Of Praslin) [Unreleased]

A3. Durante – Maia [Unreleased]

A4. Dan Kye – Focus [Rhythm Section International]

B1. Dark Sky & Afriquoi – Cold Harbour [Dark Sky]

B2. Bonobo – Ibrik [Fabric Records]

B3. Olsen – Femenine [Mister Saturday Night]

C1. TSHA – Sacred [TSHA]

C2. R. Lyle – Perpetrator [Unreleased]

C3. Throwing Snow – Rheged [Houndstooth]

C4. DJ Seinfeld – Stargard [Unreleased]

D1. Nepa Allstar – The Way [Surplus]

D2. Bonobo – Boston Common [Ninja Tune]

D3. Âme – Nia [Engoli]

D4. O’Flynn – TKOTN [Hundred Flowers]