Connan Mockasin - Jassbusters //Mexican Summer// (Released 12th October)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£16.99 – Limited Edition Indies Only LP & Poster

Nothing is ever straightforward with Connan Mockasin, and nothing should ever be straightforward with Connan Mockasin. This riddled rule has never resounded more than on Jassbusters, Mockasin’s third album and first in five years.

An unclassifiable, unconventional album that neither picks up from nor abandons the modes of 2013’s widely-embraced Caramel or its 2010 predecessor Forever Dolphin Love, Jassbusters foreshadows a five-part melodrama titled “Bostyn ’n Dobsyn”, directed by and starring Mockasin as music teacher Dobsyn and his friend Blake Pryor as music student Bostyn, both in bad wigs. Jassbusters soundtracks the unpredictable narrative of the series in eclectic, electric ways.

Whether bending genres for shits n’ giggles or collaborating with artists like James Blake (who might just appear on a Jassbusters track), MGMT, John Cale, and Charlotte Gainsbourg, Mockasin has always manoeuvred in mysterious ways. After touring with the likes of Radiohead and Neil & Liam Finn (Crowded House), the Kiwi R&B surrealist continues assembling a cult around his theatre, nay spectacle, of life with Bostyn ’n Dobsyn screenings and Jassbusters performances throughout October and November 2018.


  1. Charlotte’s Thong
  2. Momo’s
  3. Last Night
  4. You Can Do Anything
  5. Con Conn Was Impatient
  6. B ‘n D
  7. Sexy Man

8. Les Be Honest

Additional information


Limited Edition Indies Only LP & Poster

request_a_record1 copy