DAVID GRAY - "SKELLIG" //Laugh a minute records// (Released 14th May)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£18.99 – 2xLP with Gatefold Sleeve (plus DL Code)

The second LP to be produced by Ben de Vries, the thirteen-track album departs from the shimmering electronics of 2019’s Gold In A Brass Age and embarks on a sparser, communal soundscape. The atmospheric songs centring themselves around six-part vocals with Gray trading his signature gravel for a softer tone. Recorded prior to the pandemic, the album sessions took place at Edwyn Collins’ Helmsdale studio on the Sutherland coast, with De Vries and Gray finessing the mix throughout lockdown. The album’s artwork is created by former art school graduate Gray himself. Skellig takes its name from a formation of precipitous rocky islands off the coast of Co. Kerry, the most westerly point in Ireland.

The multi-vocal layering weaving across Skellig came to Gray during 2013’s Sounding Out Tour, where he recruited members of his live band – including Caroline Dale, David Kitt and Rob Malone – to experiment on his back-catalogue alongside him. Gathering up Dale, Kitt and Malone, and with the addition of Niamh Farrell, Mossy Noalan and de Vries, Gray ventured up to the Scottish Highlands to live out the creation of the record. Welcomed by the kindness of Edwyn Collins, his wife and son, the small, intimate studio felt a fitting location for a record eager to celebrate its Celtic affinity.


  1. Skellig
  2. Dún Laoghaire
  3. Accumulates
  4. Heart and soul
  5. Laughing gas
  6. No false gods
  7. Deep water swim
  8. Spiral arms
  9. The white owl
  10. Dares my heart be free
  11. House with no walls
  12. Can’t hurt more than this
  13. All that we asked for

Additional information

Weight N/A

Gatefold LP & DLC