Dinked #43 - Modern Studies - The Weight of the Sun //Fire Records// (Released 8th May)




£22.99 – Dinked Edition #43

  • Exclusive “Sunburst Splatter” vinyl
  • Exclusive numbered lyric sheet
  • Dinked sticker
  • 300 only

New album from kosmiche folk-rock quartet Modern Studies. A glorious compendium of haunted disco hallelujahs, mercurial krautrock chorales, cosmic pop adagios and euphoric, resilient, anthems. ‘The Weight of the Sun’ sees principal songwriters Emily Scott and Rob St John further their warm, esoteric field studies with Pete Harvey and Joe Smillie, as previously reconnoitred on ‘Swell To Great’ (2016) and ‘Welcome Strangers’ (2018).

“The exact point where Fairport Convention meet Jim O’Rourke at a remote Scottish railway station.” Tim Burgess

“Melancholic magic… recalls Johnny Marr’s hazier reveries and the febrile, electrified folk of Polly Harvey’s Let England Shake.” UNCUT

 New album from “Setting the standards for intelligent pop” Record Collector

 There is a strange familiarity, and a welcome strangeness, in the quiet alchemy of Modern Studies.

 Track List

Side A

  1. Photograph
  2. Run for Cover
  3. Heavy Water
  4. She
  5. Corridors
  6. Signs of Use

Side B

  1. Brother
  2. The Blue of Distance
  3. Back to the City
  4. Jacqueline
  5. Spaces
  6. Shape of Light

Additional information


Dinked Edition #43