Explosions In The Sky - The Rescue (Anniversary Edition) //Temporary Residence// (Released 16th August)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£23.99 – Indies Only Limited Edition Opaque Dusty Orange Coloured Vinyl LP & DLC

£21.99 – Standard LP & DLC

The Rescue is commonly referred to as Explosions In The Sky’s “secret album”, mostly due to the fact that since its initial limited mail-order only CD release in 2005, it has never been made commercially available on any format, in any store, anywhere in the world.

In 2005 – after having toured the world for over a year straight in support of The Earth Is Not A Cold Place (2003), and scoring the major motion picture, Friday Night Lights – Explosions In The Sky took the year off to physically, emotionally, and creatively recharge.

It was during this period that they decided to try making an entire album in a method that was totally foreign to them: quickly, and loosely. They came up with the idea to compose, rehearse, record, and mix an entirely new song each day for eight days in a row. They kept the rules simple and strict: the song had to be crafted from start to finish in one day, and could not be revisited once that day was done. The band would produce, record, and mix everything themselves in their own homes, without outside assistance or interference.

With such rigid parameters, the expectations were kept suitably low. The quality of the album that bloomed was startlingly high. The songs had a lightness and unruliness that starkly contrasted their catalogue, while maintaining the same emotional resonance that had already become a trademark of their music. The Rescue (Anniversary Edition) has been beautifully remastered from the original 24-bit stereo mixes, and is packaged in a full-colour jacket with a full-colour heavyweight inner sleeve featuring the hand-written story of The Rescue, as told by the band upon its completion in 2005. This is the long-overdue, definitive presentation of a rare but requisite piece of Explosions In The Sky’s remarkable history.


  1. Day One
  2. Day Two
  3. Day Three
  4. Day Four
  5. Day Five
  6. Day Six
  7. Day Seven
  8. Day Eight

Additional information


Indies Only Orange Coloured Vinyl LP & DLC, Standard LP & DLC

request_a_record1 copy