GHOSTPOET - "I GROW TIRED BUT DARE NOT FALL ASLEEP"//Play it again Sam// (Released 1st May)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£19.99 – 1xLP Limited Edition Crystal Clear Vinyl

£19.99 – 1xLP Standard Edition Vinyl

Ghostpoet returns with his new album ‘I Grow Tired But Dare Not Fall Asleep’, released through Play It Again Sam label.

The two-time Mercury Prize nominee Ghostpoet (aka Obaro Ejimiwe) follows up 2017’s acclaimed ‘Dark Days + Canapés’ with a record which couldn’t feel more prescient, a dystopian snapshot of the universal unease and anxiety we feel as we enter into this new decade, an uncertain future distilled across these 10 vital tracks.

The bluesy, gritty ‘Concrete Pony’ track is the perfect entry point to the record – in Obaro’s own words; “It’s a snapshot of where we’re at as a society I feel, we seem to have everything and nothing at all. Infinite possibilities and choices galore but we seem set in stone, frozen in place, oblivious to the storm clouds in the distance…”

Recorded in London and written, arranged and produced by Ghostpoet, ‘I Grow Tired But Dare Not Fall Asleep’ incorporates a myriad of sounds and styles but is anchored by the more alt-rock sonics presented across his last two records.

It features guest vocals from an eclectic mix of artists; Art School Girlfriend, Skinny Girl Diet’s Delilah Holiday, Sara and Katie Dove Dixon. Obaro has always had a keen ear for collaboration, having worked with the likes of Massive Attack, Nadine Shah, Melanie Di Biasio, Maximo Park’s Paul Smith and Damon Albarn’s Africa Express amongst others across his distinguished career.


  1. Breaking cover
  2. Concrete pony
  3. Humana second hand
  4. Black dog got silver eyes
  5. Rats in a sack
  6. This trainwreck of a life
  7. Nowhere to hide now
  8. When mouths collide
  9. I grow tired but dare not fall asleep
  10. Social lacerations

Additional information


Crystal Clear LP & DL Code, Standard Black LP

request_a_record1 copy