HOLY MOTORS - "HORSE" //Wharf Cat Records// (Released 16th October)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£21.99 – 1xLP, Indies Exclusive, Limited Edition Metallic Gold Vinyl

£19.99 – 1xLP, Limited Edition Standard Vinyl

The more hopeful ‘sunrise’ to 2018’s critically acclaimed ‘Slow Sundown’, ‘Horse’ finds Tallinn, Estonia’s Holy Motors acknowledging the Americana and rockabilly strands of their musical DNA without sacrificing any of the otherworldly mystique that keeps them from neatly conforming to the shoegaze and dreampop labels often applied to their music.

From the album’s opening moments, songs like “Country Church,” with its major key and classic rhythm and blues guitar line, and “Midnight Cowboy,” which sounds like a lost Buddy Holly 45 played at 33 rpm, make it clear that Horse — even if it may not accomplish the impossible task of demystifying this band of ex-Soviet cowboys — will at least show you that there’s more to them than the near-impenetrable darkness of their work to date may suggest.

While tracks like “Trouble” and “Endless Night” gravitate towards the ethereal production and existential subject matter of prior releases, repeat listens will reveal the same complex compositions and humanity that are much more a hallmark of Horse’s eight songs.

As a whole, Horse stands as a warmer, more human counterpoint to 2018’s celestial Slow Sundown. As to which of the two entries better approximates Holy Motors’ natural set point, only time will tell.

Holy Motors is a “twang and reverb” band from Tallinn, Estonia, united by shared infatuation with the American West that the members developed waiting out their homeland’s long, grim winters with the warm company of American western films and their instruments.


  1. Country church
  2. Endless night
  3. Midnight cowboy
  4. Road stars
  5. Matador
  6. Come on, slowly
  7. Trouble
  8. Life valley (so many miles away)

Additional information

Weight N/A

Indies Only Ltd Metallic Gold, Standard Black LP