JAMES DEAN BRADFIELD – “EVEN IN EXILE” //Montyray// (Released 14th August)


Share this:

£18.99 – 1xLP, Indies Exclusive, Limited Edition Blue Vinyl

£18.99 – 1xLP, Standard Edition

“Even in Exile” is the second album by James Dean Bradfield, frontman of the Manic Street Preachers.

An ultra-vivid eulogy to a brilliant life cut short, ‘Even in Exile’ is a beautiful collection of songs that loosely trace to story of the life and death of Chilean poet-singer-activist Victor Jara. At points pure and biographical, at others dreamlike and opaque, Bradfield sets words written specifically for the album by poet/playwright Patrick Jones to some of the most addictive and affecting melodies he’s ever composed.

James Dean Bradfield: “Sometime at the start of 2019, Patrick gave me a handful of poems each of which touched on different aspects of Victor Jara’s life. When I read them, I was struck by the idea that if a life means anything, it will continue after death. That thought stuck with me and made me want to turn Patrick’s words into a record.


  1. Recuerda
  2. The boy from the plantation
  3. There’ll come a war
  4. Seeking the room with the three windows
  5. Thirty thousand milk bottles
  6. Under the mimosa tree
  7. From the hands of violeta
  8. Without knowing the end ( joan’s song )
  9. La partida
  10. The last song
  11. Santiago sunrise
Weight N/A

Indies Only Blue Coloured Vinyl LP, Standard Black LP