Kate Tempest - The Book Of Traps And Lessons //Fiction// (Released 14th June)




£18.99 – LP & 16 Page Booklet

Kate Tempest‘s highly anticipated third studio album, The Book Of Traps And Lessons, was crafted with Rick Rubin and Dan Carey over the course of the past five years. It follows Tempest’s previous releases, Everybody Down (2014) and Let Them Eat Chaos (2017) both of which were shortlisted for Mercury Music Prizes. Last year, Kate Tempest was nominated at The BRIT Awards for Best Female Solo Performer.

A handful of words often tell you everything you need to know. When asked, who is Kate Tempest? She gives a brief, albeit telling answer. “Kate Tempest is the words” she responds. You haven’t ever seen, heard, or experienced anyone quite like her. Tempest uncovers the missing link between the Golden Ages of literature and hip-hop.

The London-born BRIT Award-nominated spoken word artist, rapper, poet, novelist, and playwright rhymes with a century-turning fury. Since her emergence in 2011, she has redefined what it means to be a wordsmith in the Modern Age. To date, she has published three poetry collections, staged three plays, and released two studio albums.

In the midst of this whirlwind journey, she performed a passage of her popular 75-minute narrative poem, Brand New Ancients, on Charlie Rose. Legendary producer and American Recordings Founder Rick Rubin caught the show, tracked down her phone number, and made a call. This set a series of events in motion that led to The Book Of Traps And Lessons.


A1. Thirsty

A2. Keep Moving Don’t Move

A3. Brown Eyed Man

A4. Three Sided Coin

A5. I Trap You

A6. All Humans Too Late

B1. Hold Your Own

B2. Lessons

B3. Firesmoke

B4. Holy Elixir

B5. People’s Faces

Additional information


LP & 16 Page Booklet