Keane - Cause And Effect //Island Records// (Released 20th September)




£67.99 – Super Deluxe Boxset w/ Hardback Book, 2xCD, LP & Bonus 10″ Vinyl

£22.99 – Indies Only Pink Coloured Vinyl LP

£22.99 – Standard LP

Keane are back with their fifth studio album, Cause And Effect featuring the powerful first single ‘The Way I Feel’. Written by Keane and produced by David Kosten and the band themselves, Cause And Effect features 11 new songs recorded in London and Sussex.

The birth of this new album came as something of a surprise even to the band. Singer Tom Chaplin had released two successful solo albums but missed his old sparring partner Tim Rice-Oxley. “I found myself wondering how I had come to let this very enigmatic and important relationship in my life drift” Tom says.

Meanwhile Tim found his life falling apart and from the ashes had written an album’s worth of incredibly personal songs fuelled by humour as well as pain. When Tom, bassist Jesse Quin and drummer Richard Hughes heard the songs, they were immediately drawn to them both sonically and lyrically.

“Hopes And Fears (2007) was a break-up album too, but it was about a break-up when I was 19” Tim explains. “It’s a bit different when you’re older and you’ve got kids – your whole little world shifts on its axis”.

‘The Way I Feel’, like the other ten tracks on Cause And Effect, is an emotional and remarkable slice of life, and reminiscent of the very best of Keane. It’s an exciting period for one of the country’s best bands and a very welcome return.

As Tim Rice-Oxley says, “We’re not some heritage act. We’ve got a lot of great music in us”.

Cause And Effect is just that.



  1. You’re Not Home
  2. Love Too Much
  3. The Way I Feel
  4. Put The Radio On
  5. Strange Room
  6. Stupid Things
  7. Phases
  8. I’m Not Leaving
  9. Thread
  10. Chase The Night Away
  11. I Need Your Love

Deluxe Boxset Bonus Tracks:

  1. New Golden Age (Bonus Track)
  2. Difficult Year (Bonus Track)
  3. The Way I Feel (Sea Fog Acoustic Session)
  4. Stupid Things (Sea Fog Acoustic Session)
  5. I’m Not Leaving (Sea Fog Acoustic Session)

Additional information


Deluxe Boxset w/ Book, 2xCD, LP & Bonus 10" Vinyl, Indies Only Pink Coloured Vinyl LP, Standard LP