Matmos – Plastic Anniversary //Thrill Jockey// (Released 15th March)


Share this:

£21.99 – Indies Only Teal Coloured Vinyl LP & DLC

£21.99 – Standard LP & DLC

The incomparable duo, Matmos, have done it again! Their new album, Plastic Anniversary, was created using only plastic objects. Highlighting the crisis of convenience, the duo make music from our refuse. True to form, the band have assembled a promiscuous array of examples of this sturdy-yet-ersatz family of materials: Dominos, Styrofoam coolers, police riot shields, polyethylene waste containers, PVC panpipes, pinpricks of bubble wrap, pills, silicone gel breast implants and most horrifically synthetic human fat. Where did this idea come from? Drew Daniels and M.C. Schmidts own “plastic” anniversary as a couple.

Matmos glide from the tongue-in-cheek fun of “Breaking Bread” (literally smashing Bread LPs) to Cronenbergian body-horror of “Interior With Billiard Balls & Synthetic Fat”. The album is playful and poppy while conveying a very serious message and on the darker implications of ignoring the havoc we are imposing on the earth all for the sake of convenience.

The LP is packaged in a jacket made of 100% recycled material, with artworked inner sleeve printed on ethically sourced paper and free download card. The cover art, which collages high resolution, up-close photographs of the objects used to create the music, is by acclaimed artist Ted Mineo.


  1. Breaking Bread
  2. The Crying Pill
  3. Interior With Billiard Balls & Synthetic Fat
  4. Extending The Plastisphere To GJ237b
  5. Silicone Gel Implant
  6. Plastic Anniversary
  7. Thermoplastic Riot Shield
  8. Fanfare For Polyethylene Waste Containers
  9. The Singing Tube
  10. Collapse Of The Fourth Kingdom
  11. Plastisphere

Indies Only Teal Coloured Vinyl LP & DLC, Standard LP & DLC