Metronomy – Metronomy Forever //Because Music// (Released 13th September)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£29.99 – Indies Only Deluxe Limited Edition Coloured Vinyl 3xLP & DLC

£23.99 – Standard 2xLP & DLC

The follow-up to 2016’s Summer 08, Metronomy Forever features 17 tracks. Its length is born from a desire for breathing room, from not wanting to stuff the hits together like a bouquet of petrol station roses – a modern way of listening to music. Metronomy’s innate skill for blending off-kilter funk, energising club vibes and esoteric pop is interspersed with some mood-setting, glistening and melodic electronic tracks.

The band’s leader Joseph Mount called upon a variety of inspirations for this album. Most notably, he wanted to replicate the feeling of listening to the radio, with an infinite quality, sumptuous songs of different styles, ever rolling, helping to lighten your mood.  Moving away from the bustle of his former Parisian home to take up residence atop a hill in the garden of England had an impact, infusing the album with a sense of tranquillity and a calm joy that reflects the relative happiness of his existence.

Also influential was time spent working on Robyn’s critically adored Honey album, with a similar feeling of emotional, intense, carnal mania informing songs such as ‘Sex Emoji’ and ‘Salted Caramel Ice Cream’.

Metronomy Forever in name represents something looking backwards and forwards simultaneously, like Janus, something fated and eternal. You were made from dust and to dust you will return, that sort of thing.

“What happens is when you’re making music and you enter a world where you have achieved some sort of celebrity no matter how large or small you start to think about yourself in terms of legacy and what you’re going to leave behind” says Mount. “And then you realise that’s limited to the interest people have in you. In the end I feel completely comfortable with it. The less importance you place in any art the more interesting it can become in a way… I’m making music, I’m going to do some concerts, I need to feed my children”.


+++ The Indies Only Deluxe Limited Edition includes the double-album on Transparent Orange Coloured Vinyl 2xLP; an exclusive Bonus LP of mixes titled Oscar Cash Forever on Transparent Green Coloured Vinyl; an eight page special gatefold sleeve & DLC +++



Metronomy Forever:

A1. Wedding

A2. Whitsand Bay

A3. Insecurity

A4. Salted Caramel Ice Cream

A5. Driving

B1. Lately

B2. Lying Low

B3. Forever Is A Long Time

B4. The Light

C1. Sex Emoji

C2. Walking In The Dark

C3. Insecure

C4. Miracle Rooftop

D1. Upset My Girlfriend

D2. Wedding Bells

D3. Lately (Going Spare)

D4. Ur Mixtape


Deluxe Edition Only Bonus LP Oscar Cash Forever Mixes:

A1. Vocal FX (It’s Automatic)

A2. Mellow Brass (Lately / Whitsand Bay)

A3. Bold Brass (Maybe It’s A Whisper)

A4. Fantasy Flute (Interlude)

B1. Distant Horn (Salted Caramel Ice Cream)

B2. Synth Bass (Sex Emoji)

B3. Glide Trumpet (The Light)

B4. Plucked Guitar (Upset My Girlfriend)

Additional information


Indies Only Deluxe Coloured Vinyl 3xLP & DLC, Standard 2xLP & DLC