MNNQNS - Body Negative //Fat Cat Records// (Released 30th August)




£19.99 – Indies Only Red Coloured Vinyl LP

£19.99 – Standard LP

“We’re a rock band that hates rock ‘n’ roll” says MNNQNS (pronounced mannequins) frontman Adrian D’Epinay. That might sound like a contradictory or even slightly confusing statement to make but once you’ve spent time in the company of MNNQNS’ debut album Body Negative it soon makes perfect sense.

On the surface the band might resemble a rock band: their music is stuffed with frenetic, jagged guitars that explode in frenzied bursts as pounding drums collide with intense vocals, all of which is carried forward with the charge of youthful spunk and propulsive energy. Yet plunge beneath that surface layer and MNNQNS are evidently a band exploring guitar music with much more depth and breadth than your average. “I like pop, punk or experimental electronic music a lot more than rock” D’Epinay says. “This is why there are these strange sounds and transitions that come in and out during the album: drones, ambience, drum machines etc”.

The album is a rare record that manages to be both fiery and textural. It combines the charge and speed of a record that resembles a car veering dangerously close to a cliff edge yet also manages to instil a confidence in the ability of the driver. MNNQNS exude a sense of controlled danger and chaos and this permeates throughout their debut. This feverish and unpredictable approach is also represented by the band’s diverse musical tastes and inspirations. If you’ve ever wondered what a record would sound like that shares influences as eclectic as Deerhunter, Death Grips, the Beach Boys, Omni and the films of Jean-Jacques Beineix then wonder no more because MNNQNS debut is the answer.

Despite only releasing their last EP in 2018, the sense of evolution, growth and identity that exists on their debut feels distinct. “We took advantage of the format” D’Epinay says of their album. “An LP means that you can take the listener into deeper parts of your music than an EP. I mean you still have to grab people’s attention but if you have it then it’s up to you to build something around it. The music has changed from our last EP in the way that we’ve found our tools by incorporating jangly 12-string guitars, dry drum sounds, tape manipulation, strange DIY pedals and sometimes monophonic synths”.

This newfound sense of focus, harmony and firing on all cylinders also comes from the band finding a groove amongst their personnel. “There has been many line-up changes since I started this band” says D’Epinay. However, the now rock-solid group from Rouen, France, also featuring Gregoire Mainot (drums), Felix Ramaen (bass) and Marc Lebreuilly (guitar), are helping bring to life the simple but potent vision D’Epinay has always had for MNNQNS. “They really share my love for writing pop songs and experimenting with new sounds and textures”. And of course they are also a rock band that hates rock ‘n’ roll.


  1. Body Negative
  2. NotWhatYouThoughtYouKnew
  3. She’s Waiting For The Day
  4. Double Visions
  5. Different Sides Of Truth
  6. Limits Of Town
  7. Urinals
  8. Desperation Moon
  9. Drinking From The Pond
  10. Fall Down
  11. Stagnant Pools
  12. Wire (Down To The)
  13. Telephone

Additional information


Indies Only Red Coloured Vinyl LP, Standard LP