Modern Nature - Nature EP //Bella Union// (Released 22nd March)




£12.99 – 12″ Vinyl EP

Modern Nature – the name taken from the title of Derek Jarman’s garden diaries – is the new project of Jack Cooper (Ultimate Painting, Mazes) and Will Young (Beak) featuring Aaron Neveu (Woods) and Jeff Tobias (Sunwatchers) on saxophone. Their debut Nature EP, is an intimately atmospheric, wildly expansive statement of intent a world away from anything any of the members have made before. It melds the relentless rhythms of Alice Coltrane’s devotional music with the pastoral haze of Fairport Convention.

As Jack Cooper explains:

“I think Will’s work with Beak and Moon Gangs and then my own solo record (Sandgrown, 2017) have more in common with Modern Nature but there is a similarity to Ultimate Painting… a similar attention to space and economy, but with this it feels good to be able to do whatever we want.

“The initial musical ideas for Modern Nature were more like melodic themes than songs, with the intention that all the songs we made would be written around the same chords and the music from the start would all be connected and working towards a narrative and set of themes”.



  1. Nature
  2. Flats
  3. Blackwaterside
  4. Supernature

Additional information


12" Vinyl EP