Neil Young - Songs For Judy //Shakey Pictures// (Released 14th December)




£22.99 – 2xLP

Songs For Judy is the debut release on Shakey Pictures Records, Neil Young’s own imprint distributed by Reprise Records. Songs For Judy is a thoroughly engaging collection of live acoustic performances culled from Neil’s November 1976 solo tour and features twenty-two songs recorded at various cities along the tour. This song cycle of live recordings is particularly powerful and unique. Young had spent much of the year travelling around the world on tour with Crazy Horse. When touring on his own, he recharged and focused on songs that would not surface in recorded form for several years. Of the albums many treasures, “No One Seems To Know” would not see the light of day until now and it remains unreleased in any other iteration.

The raw versions of the tracks found on Songs For Judy reflect an artist completely unvarnished and unafraid to allow the songs to breath and to find their own shape when performed in a solo setting. Songs written in that era would come into focus and then seemingly disappear only to re-enter Young’s orbit somewhere down the road. “White Line” and “Give Me Strength” are such examples of finding the light in 1990 and 2017 respectively. It’s also fascinating to hear Young revisit early gems such as Buffalo Springfield‘s “Mr. Soul” (1967), “Here We Are In The Years” (1968), and “The Losing End” (1969) from some of his earliest solo recordings which remain as timeless as ever.


A1. Songs For Judy (Intro)

A2. Too Far Gone

A3. No One Seems To Know

A4. Heart Of Gold

A5. White Line

A6. Love Is A Rose

A7. After The Gold Rush

B1. Human Highway

B2. Tell Me Why

B3. Mr. Soul

B4. Mellow My Mind

B5. Give Me Strength

B6. A Man Needs A Maid

C1. Roll Another Number

C2. Journey Through The Past

C3. Harvest

C4. Campaigner

C5. Old Laughing Lady

D1. The Losing End

D2. Here We Are In The Years

D3. The Needle And The Damage Done

D4. Pocahontas

D5. Sugar Mountain

Additional information