Odetta Hartman – Old Rockhounds Never Die //Memphis Industries// (Released 10th August)

From: £17.99

From: £17.99
Share this:

£18.99 – Indies Only Limited Edition Transparent Red Vinyl LP & DLC

£17.99 – Standard LP

Old Rockhounds Never Die is a bonanza of beautiful contradictions: intimate yet fiercely internationalist, spiritual and yet tangible, sweet and also sexy. It convenes with the ghosts of the past while marching relentlessly forwards.

Drawn from experiences as far-flung as riding a train from San Francisco to Chicago with an old-style, rootin’-tootin’ cowboy for company (‘Cowboy Song’), to experiencing the intense natural beauty of Icelandic waterfalls (‘Dettifoss’), it’s a record that taps into the musical traditions of the past while being a collection of songs about living in the moment.

Raised by pioneering parents on the lower east side of Manhattan, NYC, Odetta’s milieu was a “colourful culture of artistry,” that included early exposure to community activism, renegade film screenings, poetry readings and trips to CGBG’s. Inchoate punk and hip hop were aural wallpaper, as were the 45s spinning in the household jukebox featuring her dad’s extensive collection of soul and afrobeat records, as well as her Appalachian mother’s classic country selections. A classically trained violinist with a penchant for back-porch banjo, Odetta combines these variegated sounds of her childhood with her personal passion for folk music and the musicological legacy of Alan Lomax. Lomax is writ large on Old Rockhounds… at least in spirit anyway. Odetta plays all the instruments on this and her debut 222.

And yet, Old Rockhounds Never Die also embraces modernity without ever sounding incongruous. The mix of manipulated 21st century beats and the musical traditions of centuries meet at a crossroads and consummate their curiosity without inhibition. It’ll probably not surprise anyone listening to the album then that it’s a co-production. Odetta writes and performs all the songs while her partner Jack Inslee is in the background bringing the digital dark arts. Experimenting with found sounds & foley, the two have developed a sonic vernacular built around playing around with a-typical instruments.

The first fruits of this experiment were borne on the aforementioned, critically acclaimed 222. In 2015, Stereogum said: “Her impulse to mix elements of folk, bluegrass, and Americana with experimental or warped psychedelia is bridged by her strength as a lyricist, and the strength of the record’s producer Jack Inslee”. Old Rockhounds… takes the blueprint and improves upon it, with songs yet more vivid, sensual and cinematic.


  1. Old Rockhounds
  2. Cowboy Song
  3. You You
  4. Widow’s Peak
  5. Sweet Teeth
  6. Auto
  7. Honey
  8. Smoke Break
  9. The Ocean
  10. Spit
  11. Freedom
  12. Misery
  13. Dettifoss
  14. Carbon Copy
  15. (Still Alive)

Indies Only Limited Edition Transparent Red Vinyl LP & DLC, Standard LP