Free shipping on all orders over £60

Pixies - Come On Pilgrim... It's Surfer Rosa //4AD// (Released 28th September)




£33.99 – 3xLP Standard Edition On Gold Vinyl & DLC

£79.99 – 3xLP Super Deluxe Edition On Clear Vinyl In Clothbound Cover With Art Book, Lyrics & DLC

It’s been thirty years since the release of Surfer Rosa – a record made up of rage, religion, gore, incest and superheroes named Tony – a debut album so good that it’s since seen as a masterpiece. A year prior came Come On Pilgrim, an eight-track mini-album released in 1987 which contained cuts culled from their first ever studio session, where they famously recorded seventeen tracks in just three days (in full, this session makes up the band’s much bootlegged and now officially released The Purple Tape).

These formative records showed the Pixies to be an alien breed; four oddball outsiders from Boston blending US underground thrash rock, indie surf pop and Spanish-language flamenco with the Biblical mythology of Frances’s childhood. They would go on to record another masterpiece in 1989’s Doolittle, but it’s the gruesome glory of Surfer Rosa, and the ruined sexuality of its cover image (a topless flamenco dancer in a crumbling Mexican bar) that set a fresh blueprint for an indie rock dynamism that not only planted the seeds of grunge (Kurt Cobain would admit that he was trying to imitate the record while writing Nevermind) but of much of the best rock music made since.

To celebrate this milestone, the Pixies release Come On Pilgrim… It’s Surfer Rosa, the 30th anniversary edition which contains Come On Pilgrim, Surfer Rosa and Live From The Fallout Shelter, a concert-cum-session that first aired in late-1986 on WJUL in Lowell, MA. Like all other Pixies sleeves, Vaughan Oliver returns as designer, stunningly reinterpreting his original artwork with Simon Larbalestier’s iconic photographs remaining these record’s crowning glory.

    *** Please note the limited edition Deluxe 3LP Edition pressed on clear vinyl, comes housed in a clothbound hardbook, includes art book, lyric booklet and download will be released later in November 2018. ***



LP1 – Come On Pilgrim

  1. Caribou
  2. Vamos (Pilgrim)
  3. Isla De Encanta
  4. Ed Is Dead
  5. The Holiday Song
  6. Nimrod’s Son
  7. I’ve Been Tired
  8. Levitate Me


LP2 – Surfer Rosa

  1. Bone Machine
  2. Break My Body
  3. Something Against You
  4. Broken Face
  5. Gigantic
  6. River Euphrates
  7. Where Is My Mind?
  8. Cactus
  9. Tony’s Theme
  10. Oh My Golly!
  11. Vamos (Surfer Rosa)
  12. I’m Amazed
  13. Brick Is Red


LP3 – Live From The Fallout Shelter

  1. Holiday Song
  2. I’m Amazed
  3. Rock A My Soul
  4. Isla de Encanta
  5. Caribou
  6. Broken Face
  7. Subbacultcha
  8. Build High
  9. Ed Is Dead
  10. Nimrod’s Son
  11. Down To The Well
  12. I’ve Been Tired
  13. Boom Chicka Boom
  14. Vamos
  15. In Heaven

Additional information


3xLP Standard Edition, 3xLP Super Deluxe Edition