Pixx - Small Mercies //4AD// (Released 7th June)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£16.99 – LP

Although love lives at the heart of Hannah Rodgers‘ second Pixx album, it has little to do with romance. Small Mercies is absolutely not a heartbreak record, nor is it a celebration of new love, or sisterly call-to-arms or vengeful catharsis. Instead, it is a series of poetic examinations of love across the experiential spectrum, from the micro (self-love) to the macro (devotional faith-inspired love, love for this planet), set to a soundtrack that mixes electronic pop and grungy guitar rock with aplomb.

Small Mercies follows the 23 year-old’s debut album, The Age Of Anxiety (2017), an unsettling synth-pop record fuelled by her own debilitating experience of angst, and 2015’s forlorn and folk-edged Fall In EP. Co-produced by Simon Byrt (who worked on both her EP and debut album) and Dan Carey, it sees Rodgers assuming different personas to examine the damage done by religion, gender-based power hierarchies and stereotypes, the tipping point of Earth’s destruction and love.


A1. Andean Condor

A2. Bitch

A3. Disgrace

A4. Small Mercies

A5. Peanuts Grow Underground

A6. Funsize

B1. Dirt Interlude pt. 1

B2. Mary Magdalene

B3. Hysterical

B4. Eruption 24

B5. Dirt Interlude pt. 2

B6. Duck Out

B7. Blowfish

Additional information



request_a_record1 copy