Primal Scream - Give Out But Don't Give Up (The Original Memphis Recordings) //Sony CMG// (Released 12th October)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£19.99 – 2xLP & DLC

In 1993 Primal Scream went to Memphis to make an album with Tom Dowd and the Muscle Shoals rhythm section, that album never saw the light of day, until now…..

Following the recent discovery of these tracks in a box lurking in Andrew Innes’ basement, Primal Scream will release the original studio recordings from Memphis of the tracks that eventually became their 1994 album Give Out But Don’t Give Up.

Teaming up with legendary producer Tom Dowd and the Muscle Shoals rhythm section of David Hood (bass) and Roger Hawkins (drums) at Ardent Studios in Memphis, the resulting recordings from those classic sessions showcase the more country soul, rock’n’roll side to a band who continue to surprise. It’s Primal Scream as you’ve never heard them before.

Dowd’s deft production, coupled with the merging of this sublime rhythm section and one of the UK’s best ever bands, led to the creation of nine glorious tracks that run the gamut between blues, gospel and brilliant songwriting, available for the first time.


A1. Jailbird

A2. Rocks

A3. Call On Me

B1. Everybody Needs Somebody

B2. Sad And Blue

C1. Big Jet Plane

C2. Free

D1. Jesus

D2. (I’m Gonna) Cry Myself Blind

Additional information


2xLP & DLC