Primal Scream - Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll: The Singles //Columbia// (Released 24th May)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£22.99 – Volume ONE 2xLP

£22.99 – Volume TWO 2xLP

£42.99 – Volumes ONE & TWO 2x Double LP


Primal Scream have announced a career spanning compilation of their first 30 years; spread across two volumes the band have compiled one of the greatest singles discographies from across 11 albums into one expansive best of collection with Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll: The Singles Volume 1 (1986-2000) and Volume 2 (2000-2016).

Over the past three and a half decades, Primal Scream have embraced everything from psychedelic pop to degenerate rock’n’roll; euphoric rave to industrial gloom. They have made records with George Clinton and Kate Moss, invited Mani of the Stone Roses and Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine into the fold, survived narcotic oblivion, personal trauma and the death of beloved guitarist Robert “Throb” Young, and captured the mood of the nation several times over. Throughout it all, they have always sounded like Primal Scream. And they have always made great singles.

From their psychedelic debut Sonic Flower Groove (1987) to the era-defining hedonism of Screamadelica (1991) through to the sonic attack of XTRMNTR (2000) and beyond, the eclectic nature of Primal Scream has been matched by the sheer consistency of their singles and they have become part of Britain’s musical heritage.

“Right from our 1985 debut ‘All Fall Down’ onward we’ve approached singles as an aesthetic choice, a statement of where we are as a band. We grew up with ‘Suffragette City’ and ‘Metal Guru’ flying out of the radio. The four Sex Pistols singles were great. ‘Public Image’ by PiL sounded like nothing else. Prince and Madonna made amazing hits. That has been our approach. I’ve always loved Top 40 pop radio, I love greatest hits albums like The Who’s ‘Meaty, Beaty, Big & Bouncy’” – Bobby Gillespie –


Volume One (1986-2000) and Volume Two (2000-2016) are available to buy individually. Can’t decide? Exclusively for our online customers, you can buy both Volume One AND Volume Two at a discount!!!



A1. Velocity Girl

A2. Gentle Tuesday

A3. Imperial

A4. Ivy Ivy Ivy

A5. Loaded

B1. Come Together

B2. Higher Than The Sun

B3. Don’t Fight It, Feel It

B4. Movin’ On Up

C1. Rocks

C2. Jailbird

C3. (I’m Gonna) Cry Myself Blind

C4. Kowalski

D1. Star

D2. Burning Wheel

D3. Swastika Eyes

D4. Kill All Hippies



A1. Accelerator

A2. Miss Lucifer

A3. Autobahn 66

A4. Some Velvet Morning (w/ Kate Moss)

B1. Country Girl

B2. Dolls (Sweet Rock And Roll)

B3. Sometimes I Feel So Lonely

C1. Can’t Go Back

C2. Uptown (Weatherall Mix)

C3. 2013

C4. It’s Alright, It’s OK

D1. Goodbye Johnny

D2. Where The Light Gets In (w/ Sky Ferreira)

D3. 100% Or Nothing

Additional information


Volume ONE 2xLP, Volume TWO 2xLP, Volumes ONE & TWO 2x Double LP