Protomartyr - No Passion All Technique //Domino// (Released 3rd May)




£23.99 – Indies Only Blue Coloured Vinyl LP w/ “Zine” & DLC

£22.99 – Standard LP w/ “Zine” & DLC

Protomartyr can finally answer what is probably their most frequently asked question: “When are you going to reissue your first album?”. No Passion All Technique has long been something of a mystery. Not available on streaming services; long out of print (and going for ridiculous prices on auction sites), why was this album so elusive?

When Protomartyr (vocalist Joe Casey, guitarist Greg Ahee, bassist Scott Davidson, and drummer Alex Leonard) stepped into a studio together for the first time, in November of 2011, they didn’t know they were about to record an album. With only four hours of studio time booked and one case of beer between them, their plan was to walk out with enough songs for a seven-inch single. Instead, at the suggestion of engineer Chris Koltay, the newly formed Detroit outfit recorded as much as they possibly could, in what little time they had.

Sold out and out of print shortly after its original release on Urinal Cake Records in October 2012, No Passion All Technique is a sometimes-messy look at one of rock’s most magnetic bands – and lyricists – just as they were coming to life. Primal, cerebral, heartbreaking, funny – it’s an accidental tour de force that’s also become an unlikely collector’s item.

“My memory is shot” Casey says, “but I appreciate now, looking back, how raw and off-the-cuff it was. There’s tons of mistakes in it and that wasn’t because we planned on it. We still can’t really admit that it’s as good as it is. You never want to say that your first is the best, but I’m happy that the first ended up not being terrible. It gave us doorway to what we’d want to do later”.

Both the Standard Edition and Indies Only Blue Coloured Vinyl LP come packaged with a 20-page ‘zine & download content including four digital bonus tracks from the original recording session not included on the album.


A1. In My Sphere

A2. Machinist Man

A3. Hot Wheel City

A4. 3 Swallows

A5. Free Supper

A6. Jumbo’s

B1. Ypsilanti

B2. Too Many Jewels

B3. (Don’t You) Call Me Out My Name

B4. How He Lived After He Died

B5. Feral Cats

B6. Wine Of Ape

B7. Principalities

Additional information


Indies Only Blue Vinyl LP w/ Zine & DLC, Standard LP w/ Zine & DLC