Steve Mason - About The Light //Double Six// (Released 18th January)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£21.99 – Standard LP

£23.99 – Indies Only Silver Vinyl LP

One of the founding members of The Beta Band, Steve Mason has also recorded under the names of King Biscuit Time and Black Affair and since 2010 has released three acclaimed solo albums under his own name. About The Light is his fourth solo album following Boys Outside (2010), Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time (2013) and Meet The Humans (2016).

Having written most of his previous albums alone, About The Light marks a change in approach for Steve. “I decided with this album that I wanted to get my live band involved at every stage because I wanted to capture the energy that we produce when we play live shows, so this time the band and myself worked on a collection of songs over the course of last year” he explains.

Picking Stephen Street to produce the album, and with a very clear plan in mind, from the off the goal was to capture the songs live and draw out their soulful elements. Talking about the process, Stephen Street says, “Steve explained that he wanted to make this album with his band playing more ‘live’ than on some of his previous offerings and also to augment the songs with brass and female backing vocalists. I felt this approach of first stripping back the songs to a more ‘live’ feel to create more space for the more ‘soulful’ elements to breathe in was an interesting one and we got down to work!”.

Recorded at studios in London and Brighton, About The Light, sees a subtle yet noticeable evolution in Steve’s sound. “When I listen to this album it feels and sounds like the first ‘legitimate’ record that I have ever made. It’s hard to explain but it sounds like a ‘real’ album. I think that is partly the production, the playing and the work that I did with the band for all those months in our rehearsal room on the South Coast” says Steve. “It’s a beautiful, confident, positive, angry, loving and gentle album which once again moves what I do forward” he adds. “David Bowie said that you should always be slightly out of your comfort zone if you want to achieve greatness, and for the first time perhaps ever, I deliberately pushed myself into that place. Who doesn’t want greatness?”.


  1. America Is Your Boyfriend
  2. Rocket
  3. No Clue
  4. About The Light
  5. Fox On The Rooftop
  6. Stars Around My Heart
  7. Spanish Brigade
  8. Don’t Know Where
  9. Walking Away From Love
  10. The End

Additional information


Indies Only Silver Vinyl LP, Standard LP