Teenage Fanclub - Thirteen //Creation Records// (Released 10th August)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£21.99 – LP & Bonus 7″

On it’s initial release in 1993, Thirteen was unfairly maligned across much of the press but still reached No. 14 in the UK Charts, their highest charting album at the time. This was the band’s ‘difficult’ album following on from the global success of Bandwagonesque (1991) but they crafted an album across several months in studios in Glasgow, the band’s hometown, and Manchester. The underrated album stands up today alongside anything else they have done, confirmed by the power pop majesty of “Radio”, one of their biggest hits. Although named after the number of tracks on the album, the title is a clear reference to Big Star, a relatively obscure reference point at the time, but a key influence for the band. Another key influence for the album is The Byrds, a reference proudly worn on their sleeves with album’s closing track Gene Clark.

“Everywhere the pleasures of harmony and wistfulness are well to the fore” – The Independent, 1993

Having long been out of print, Teenage Fanclub will re-release their classic Creation Records albums on vinyl. Each album has been re-mastered for the first time from the original tapes at Abbey Road Studios, London under the guidance of the band, Norman Blake, Gerard Love, and Raymond McGinley. They will be packaged in faithful re-productions of the original vinyl artwork and available on heavyweight 180g single vinyl. The band have also selected rarities, favourites and tracks previously unavailable on vinyl to include on a 7” with each album.  These 7” singles will each feature two tracks and will only be available with the initial pressing of each album.

Also available are the albums Bandwagonesque, Grand Prix, Songs From Northern Britain, and Howdy!



A1. Hang On

A2. The Cabbage

A3. Radio

A4. Norman 3

A5. Song To The Cynic

A6. 120 mins

B1. Escher

B2. Commercial Alternative

B3. Fear Of Flying

B4. Tears Are Cool

B5. Ret Live Dead

B6. Get Funky

B7. Gene Clark


Bonus 7” Single:

A1. Country Song (From the Thirteen album sessions and Previously Unreleased)

B1. Eyes Wide Open (From the Thirteen album sessions)

Additional information


LP & Bonus 7"

request_a_record1 copy