Free shipping on all orders over £60

The Mountain Goats - In League With Dragons //Merge Records// (Released 26th April)




£44.99 – Indies Only Hardcore Edition Yellow & Green Marbled Vinyl 2xLP w/ Bonus 7″ & DLC

£27.99 – Indies Only Peak Edition Green Coloured Vinyl 2xLP w/ Bonus 7″ & DLC

£21.99 – Standard Edition 2xLP


The Mountain Goats are John Darnielle, bassist Peter Hughes, drummer Jon Wurster (Superchunk, Bob Mould), and Matt Douglas providing flute, saxophone, clarinet, guitar, keyboard, backing vocals. Initially a moniker for singer-songwriter Darnielle’s solo material, they have been making lo-fi folk music together as a quartet for several years. Three of them live in North Carolina and one has moved back to Rochester.

Their songs often seek out dark lairs within which terrible monsters dwell, but their mission is to retrieve the treasure from the dark lair & persuade the terrible monsters inside to seek out the path of redemption. As Axl Rose once memorably asked, in the song “Terrible Monster”: “What’s so terrible about monsters, anyway?”. This is the question The Mountain Goats have been doggedly pursuing since their first home-recordings in 1991. They will never leave off this quest until every option has been exhausted. Thank You.

The band’s seventeenth studio album, In League With Dragons was recorded at Blackbird Studio in Nashville, TN, and produced by Owen Pallett, with album illustration by Elton D’Souza of Perth Australia. The vinyl was cut at half-speed mastering.


 – The Indies Only Peak Edition on Green Coloured Vinyl 2xLP & Bonus 7” is a limited edition of 2000 only –


– The Indies Only Hardcore Edition on Marbled Yellow & Green Marbled Vinyl 2xLP is housed in a gatefold jacket and slipcase with debossed dragon scale pattern, and includes a Dragon League membership card, Bonus 7″ & download card, and is limited to 3300 only –



A1. Done Bleeding

A2. Younger

A3. Passaic 1975

B1. Clemency For The Wizard King

B2. Possum By Night

B3. In League With Dragons

C1. Doc Gooden

C2. Going Invisible 2

C3. Waylon Jennings Live!

D1. Cadaver Sniffing Dog

D2. An Antidote For Strychnine

D3. Sicilian Crest


Bonus 7″

A1. Sentries In The Ambush

B1. Divided Sky Lane

Additional information


Hardcore Edition Marbled Vinyl 2xLP w/ Bonus 7", Peak Edition Coloured Vinyl 2xLP w/ Bonus 7", Standard Edition 2xLP