The Rolling Stones - Rock And Roll Circus //ABKCO// (Released 28th June)




£51.99 – 3xLP

Recorded before a live audience in London in 1968, The Rolling StonesRock And Roll Circus was originally conceived as a BBC TV special. Directed by Michael Lindsay-Hogg, it centres on the original line up of The Rolling Stones – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Brian Jones, Charlie Watts, and Bill Wyman, with Nicky Hopkins and Rocky Dijon – who serve as both the show’s hosts and featured attraction.

For the first time in front of an audience, “The World’s Greatest Rock and Roll Band” performs six Stones classics. The program also includes extraordinary performances by The Who, Jethro Tull, Taj Mahal, Marianne Faithfull, Yoko Ono, and The Dirty Mac. A ‘supergroup’ before the term had even been coined, the band was comprised of Eric Clapton (lead guitar), Keith Richards (bass), Mitch Mitchell of The Jimi Hendrix Experience (drums) and John Lennon on guitar and vocals.

Available for the first time on vinyl, The Rolling Stones Rock And Roll Circus soundtrack has been expanded to 28 tracks, received a new mix and restoration, and includes bonus material by the late concert pianist Julius Katchen, three additional songs by Taj Mahal and never before heard recordings of The Dirty Mac performing The Beatles classic, “Revolution” and the aptly titled track “Warmup Jam”.


A1. Mick Jagger’s Introduction Of Rock And Roll Circus

A2. Entry Of The Gladiators – Circus Band

A3. Mick Jagger’s Introduction Of Jethro Tull

A4. Song For Jeffrey – Jethro Tull

A5. Keith Richards’ Introduction Of The Who

A6. A Quick One While He’s Away – The Who

A7. Over The Waves – Circus Band

B1. Ain’t That A Lot Of Love – Taj Mahal

B2. Charlie Watts’ Introduction Of Marianne Faithfull

B3. Something Better – Marianne Faithfull

B4. Mick Jagger’s and John Lennon’s Introduction Of The Dirty Mac

B5. Yer Blues – The Dirty Mac

B6. Whole Lotta Yoko – Yoko Ono & Ivry Gitlis with The Dirty Mac

C1. John Lennon’s Introduction Of The Rolling Stones / Jumpin’ Jack Flash – The Rolling Stones

C2. Parachute Woman – The Rolling Stones

C3. No Expectations – The Rolling Stones

C4. You Can’t Always Get What You Want – The Rolling Stones

D1. Sympathy for the Devil – The Rolling Stones

D2. Salt Of The Earth – The Rolling Stones

E1. Checkin’ Up On My Baby – Taj Mahal

E2. Leaving Trunk – Taj Mahal

E3. Corinna – Taj Mahal

F1. Revolution (Rehearsal) – The Dirty Mac

F2. Warmup Jam – The Dirty Mac

F3. Yer Blues (Take 2) – The Dirty Mac

F4. Brian Jones’ Introduction of Julius Katchen

F5. De Falla: Ritual Fire Dance – Julius Katchen

F6. Mozart: Sonata In C Major 1st Movement – Julius Katchen

Additional information