This Mortal Coil - Filigree & Shadow (Deluxe Reissue) //4AD// (Released 7th December)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£32.99 – 2xLP

This Mortal Coil was the given name of a strictly-studio project that spawned three albums, conceived and produced by one-time 4AD founder Ivo Watts-Russell. Over the span of eight years he, along with Blackwing Studios house engineer/ co-producer, John Fryer, and a rotating cast of musicians, created original works, musical links and reinterpretations of impeccably curated songs; introducing a new audience to the talents of a previous generation including Big Star, Tim Buckley, Roy Harper, Spirit, Gene Clark, Dino Valenti, Rain Parade, Emmylou Harris, Syd Barrett and Colin Newman, amongst others.

The new deluxe vinyl versions differ from the original releases with each album, It’ll End In Tears (1984); Filigree & Shadow (1986); and Blood (1991), having had its artwork reimagined by Ivo Watts-Russell and Vaughan Oliver (4AD’s long-time visual partner).  All three are now presented in beautiful, hand finished and high-gloss gatefold sleeves, using remastered audio made from the original analogue studio tapes by the late, great John Dent.

Released two years after their debut, Filigree & Shadow (1986) was no less ornate than its predecessor; a double album with each of its four sides a self-contained unit. New faces joined the cast for this record, including a variety of singers Ivo handpicked like Alison Limerick, Jeanette, Dominic Appleton (Breathless), sisters Deirdre and Louise Rutkowski (Sunset Gun), and Richenel.

An intense listen, The Quietus called it “tortured yet oddly euphoric… (music which) could easily rip flimsy souls apart”.



A1. Velvet Belly

A2. The Jeweller

A3. Ivy And Neet

A4. Meniscus

A5. Tears

A6. Tarantula

B1. My Father

B2. Come Here My Love

B3. At First, And Then

B4. Strength Of Strings

B5. Morning Glory

C1. Inch-Blue

C2. I Want To Live

C3. Mama K (1)

C4. Filigree & Shadow

C5. Fire Brothers

C6. Thaïs (1)

C7. I Must Have Been Blind

C8. A Heart Of Glass

D1. Alone

D2. Mama K (2)

D3. The Horizon Bleeds And Sucks Its Thumb

D4. Drugs

D5. Red Rain

D6. Thaïs (2)

Additional information