Free shipping on all orders over £60

THROWING MUSES - "SUN RACKET" //Fire Records// (Released 22nd May)




£21.99 – 1xLP, Indies Exclusive Limited Violet LP, Laser Cut Sleeve (plus DL Code)

£17.99 – 1xLP, Standard Edition

Sun Racket is the brand new album from legendary Boston trio Throwing Muses, who are Kristin Hersh, David Narcizo and Bernard Georges. The follow up to 2013’s ‘Purgatory/Paradise’ is an outpouring of modal guitars, reverbed shapes, echoey drums and driving bass, set behind Kristen Hersh’s well-thumbed notebook of storylines. A ten-song opus of suitably wrought tales set against a wall of sound that’s at once calm and ethereal, before building into glorious cacophonous crescendos.

When Throwing Muses wrote their last album, they were shattered. Pieces were coming and going, elements repeating and charging the whole. “It sounded beautiful jumping around like that”. Two-minute songs reappearing as twisted instrumentals or another song’s bridge. They mimicked the effect live which kept them on their toes. Whatever was happening was already over in other words. Sun Racket is the opposite. It refused to do anything but sit still. It says, “sit here and deal”. “All it asked of us was to co-mingle two completely disparate sonic vocabularies: one heavy noise, the other delicate music box. Turns out we didn’t have to do much. Sun Racket knew what it was doing and pushed us aside, which is always best. After thirty years of playing together, we trust each other implicitly but we trust the music more” – Kristin Hersh And so, they continue. Business unusual.


Side A
1 Dark Blue
2 Bywater
3 Maria Laguna
4 Bo Diddley Bridge
5 Milk At Mcdonald’s

Side B
6 Upstairs Dan
7 St Charles
8 Frosting
9 Kay Catherine
10 Sue’s

Additional information


Indies Only Violet LP, Standard Black LP