Tim Hecker - Konoyo //Kranky// (Released 28th September)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£25.99 – 2xLP


Experiential composer Tim Hecker’s ninth official full-length, Konoyo (“The World Over Here”) was largely recorded during several trips to Japan where he collaborated with members of the gagaku ensemble Tokyo Gakuso, in a temple on the outskirts of Tokyo. Inspired by conversations with a recently deceased friend about negative space and a sense of music’s increasingly banal density, Hecker found himself drawn towards restraint and elegance, while making music both collectively and alone.

As with the Icelandic choir he arranged on 2016’s Love Streams, the heights of Hecker’s talent emerge in his manipulation of source material, bending and burnishing it into fantastical new forms. Keening strings are stretched into surreal, pixelated mirages; woodwinds warble and dissipate as fractal whispers of spatial haze; sparse gestures of percussion are chopped, isolated, and eroded, like disembodied signals from the afterlife.

Both in texture and intent, Konoyo conjures a sombre, ceremonial mood, suffused with ritual and regret. Visions flutter and fade; dreams gleam and decay.



  1. This Life
  2. In Death Valley
  3. Is A Rose Petal Of The Dying Crimson Light
  4. Keyed Out
  5. In Mother Earth Phase
  6. A Sodium Codec Haze
  7. Across To Anoyo

Additional information



request_a_record1 copy