Free shipping on all orders over £60

Various - "You Can't Sit Down: Cameo Parkway Dance Crazes" (RSD21 DROP 2)//UMC// (Released 17th July)




£31.99 – 2xLP, Limited Edition Coloured Vinyl

Record Store Day 2021, Drop 2 – Released 17th July

• A crazy 22-track collection containing some of the biggest dance craze hits from the Philadelphia label that got the world dancing in the early 1960s

• Includes tracks by Cameo Parkway’s biggest stars: Chubby Checker, Bobby Rydell, Dee Dee Sharp, The Orlons and The Dovells as well as R&B greats Don Covay and The Turbans

• Twelve Top 40 hits including three number 1 chart toppers!

• Chubby Checker’s original hit version of “The Twist,” which has the distinction of being the only single of the rock era to reach number 1 twice in two consecutive years, is included

• Features an essay by acclaimed rock & roll and R&B historian John Broven

• Mastered from the original master tapes from ABKCO’s Cameo Parkway archive

• Bespoke printed inner bags including extensive liner notes and period photos


Side One
1. The Twist – Chubby Checker
2. The Wah-Watusi – The Orlons
3. Bristol Stomp – The Dovells
4. Mashed Potato Time – Dee Dee Sharp
5. You Can’t Sit Down – The Dovells
Side Two
1. The Third House (In From The Right) – Bobby Rydell
2. Do The Bird – Dee Dee Sharp
3. Slow Twistin’ – Chubby Checker/Dee Dee Sharp
4. Shimmy Shimmy – The Orlons
5. The 81 – Candy And The Kisses
6. (Everybody Do) The Swim, Pt 1 – The Marlins
Side Three
1. The Popeye Waddle – Don Covay
2. Do The New Continental – The Dovells
3. Baby, Do The Froog – Dardenelles
4. Rocka-Conga – The Applejacks
5. The Hucklebuck – Chubby Checker
Side Four
1. The Mash – Tom Young & The Hippies
2. Mexican Hat Rock – The Applejacks
3. The Cha Cha Cha – Bobby Rydell
4. When You Dance – The Turbans
5. Everybody South Street – The Taffys
6. Twistin’ U.S.A. – Chubby Checker

Additional information

Weight N/A

2xLP Coloured Vinyl