Whenyoung - Reasons To Dream //Virgin/EMI// (Released 24th May)




£18.99 – LP & DLC

London’s (via Limerick) premiere indie songsmiths, whenyoung will release their highly anticipated debut album, Reasons To Dream, in May. The culmination of years of playing and writing together, Reasons To Dream showcases Aoife Power’s (bass/vocals), Niall Burns’ (guitar) and Andrew Flood’s (Drums) ability to craft spiky yet melodic songs which delve lyrically into everything from love and insecurities to pacifism and the gap between the haves and have-nots in Britain today.

The album marks the next milestone in a journey that started for the band when they first met as teenagers in Limerick, Ireland. After playing in separate bands around the local scene for several years, they eventually all found themselves in London and the band that was to become whenyoung was formed, inspired by a healthy mix of the music they all loved, their favourite classic cinema and literature.

Since then the band have gone from strength to strength, gaining the support of BBC Radio 1 Introducing, gracing stages at festivals everywhere from the Great Escape in Brighton to Reeperbahn in Germany and touring up and down the UK and Ireland. They were guests at Shane McGowen’s 60th birthday, supported Nick Cave in Dublin and were invited to play at the Barbican centre in London as part of a celebration of Ireland’s rich cultural legacy.

2019 looks set to be the year the band break into the wider consciousness, with the release of their debut, their first American shows (including several at the prestigious South By South West Festival) and a plethora of other international shows.


  1. Pretty Pure
  2. Never Let Go
  3. The Others
  4. A Labour of Love
  5. You’re Grand
  6. Blow Up The World
  7. Blank Walls
  8. Future
  9. In My Dreams
  10. Heartbroken
  11. Something Sweet

Additional information