Wilco - "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (20th Anniversary Edition)" (Released 16th September 2022)





£195.99 – 11xLP Very Limited Edition Vinyl, plus CD with Book

£121.99 – 7xLP Very Limited Edition Boxset, plus CD with Book

£28.99 – 2xLP, Limited Edition Indies Exclusive Cream Coloured Vinyl

£27.99 – 2xLP, Limited Edition Standard Vinyl

The now-classic record has been remastered and will be available as part of each set. The Super Deluxe version comprises eleven vinyl LPs and one CD – including demos, drafts, and instrumentals, charting the making of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot – plus a live 2002 concert recording and a September 2001 radio performance and interview. That box set includes eighty-two previously unreleased music tracks as well as a new book featuring an interview with singer/songwriter/guitarist Jeff Tweedy, drummer Glenn Kotche, and Jim O’Rourke, who mixed the acclaimed 2002 album; an in-depth essay by journalist/author Bob Mehr; and previously unseen photos of the band making the album in their Chicago studio, The Loft. For the Yankee Hotel Foxtrot recording, Wilco was Jeff Tweedy, John Stirratt, Leroy Bach, Glenn Kotche, and Jay Bennett with Craig Christiansen, Ken Coomer, Jessy Greene, Fred Lonberg-Holm, and Jim O’Rourke.

Among Yankee’s inspirations was a recording Tweedy bought at Tower Records in the late 1990s, The Conet Project: Recordings of Shortwave Numbers Stations. As Bob Mehr points out in his new album note, the record got “deep under Tweedy’s skin.” Tweedy said in his 2017 memoir, Let’s Go (So We Can Get Back), “It was as fascinating to me as anything being made by actual musicians using actual instruments… I wanted to know why it was so hypnotic to me. Why could I listen to hours of this stuff, even though I had no clue what any of them were saying. That question became the foundation for Yankee Hotel Foxtrot… the way people communicated or ultimately failed to communicate.” The album takes its title from a haunting recording of a woman repeating those words that is included in The Conet Project; that recording is sampled in the penultimate song on Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, ‘Poor Places’.

Standard Tracklisting:

I am trying to break your heart 06:58
Kamera 03:30
Radio cure 05:08
War on war 03:49
Jesus, etc. 03:51
Ashes of American flags 04:44
Heavy metal drummer 03:08
I’m the man who loves you 03:56
Pot kettle black 04:00
Poor places 05:18
Reservations 07:23

Additional information

Weight N/A

11xLP Boxset, 2xLP Coloured Vinyl, 2xLP Standard Edition, 7xLP Boxset