Sinkane - Dépaysé //City Slang// (Released 31st May)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£18.99 – Indies Only Orange Coloured Vinyl LP

£18.99 – Standard LP

Sinkane is unique in that he is one of a very few artists that has a real, tangible, physical stake in our current cultural and political climate, and it shows in the music. Born in London to Sudanese parents, raised in Ohio, and now calling New York City home, Ahmed Gallab refines his sound and message to peak form on his new studio album, Dépaysé, a French word meaning ‘to be removed from one’s habitual surroundings’.

“Sinkane is an American band comprised of people from all over the world” explains Gallab, “Our collective experience as children of the diaspora helped bring the music to life in the most honest way possible”. He adds, “Dépaysé is the story of an immigrant’s journey of self-discovery in the Trump era. The music is loud and raw, and it’s bursting with an energy unlike anything I’ve ever done before”.

But Gallab didn’t just write a few protest songs in the style of the familiar Sinkane sound. Rather, you can FEEL the difference, the change that has taken place in the art. The falsetto of the earlier records is almost entirely gone in favour of an aggressive, clearly stated tenor. There is almost nothing in the lyrics that is ambiguous or even difficult to understand, and even the music’s poppier moments are confrontational and bombastic. And while the new album is reflective of what the band has become musically, a wild raging force to be reckoned with live, it is at its heart about what real frustration feels like and what real change could require. It is by far the most personal, direct, unfiltered and raw Sinkane album.

Dépaysé is Sinkane’s seventh full-length album and the follow-up to the acclaimed Life & Livin’ It (2017). The band features Gallab, Elenna Canlas (keys and vocals), Jonny Lam (guitar), Ish Montgomery (bass), and Chris St Hilaire (drums).


A1. Everybody

A2. Everyone

A3. On Being

A4. Dépaysé Side

B1. Ya Sudan

B2. Stranger

B3. Be Here Now

B4. The Searching

B5. Mango

Additional information


Indies Only Orange Coloured Vinyl LP, Standard LP