Teenage Fanclub - Howdy! //Creation Records// (Released 10th August)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£21.99 – LP & Bonus 7″

Originally released in 2000 as their long-standing label Creation was being incorporated into major label Sony, Howdy! was recorded at Dave Gilmour’s Astoria studio on the river Thames and the legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales, and produced by the band themselves. The band were officially a five piece in the studio for the first time with keyboardist Finlay Macdonald adding an extra dimension to their trademark sound. Tracks like “Dumb Dumb Dumb” which Blake cites as one of his favourites, “I like the song just because of how it’s structured. It has an offset drumbeat”, “My Uptight Life” and “Near You” make Howdy! a quintessentially Teenage Fanclub album. It remains a charming album where the three-part harmonies and impeccably arranged songs create a positive, uplifting record.

“an exemplary lesson to anyone on how to stay relevant without jumping on whatever bandwagon is deemed fashionable” – The Independent, 2000

“underlines their reputation as the leading quirky songwriters of their era” – The Observer, 2000

“another finely crafted release in the band’s oeuvre. Teenage Fanclub proves its songwriting muscle is among the finest in modern music” – CMJ, 2002

Having long been out of print, Teenage Fanclub will re-release their classic Creation Records albums on vinyl. Each album has been re-mastered for the first time from the original tapes at Abbey Road Studios, London under the guidance of the band, Norman Blake, Gerard Love, and Raymond McGinley. They will be packaged in faithful re-productions of the original vinyl artwork and available on heavyweight 180g single vinyl. The band have also selected rarities, favourites and tracks previously unavailable on vinyl to include on a 7” with each album.  These 7” singles will each feature two tracks and will only be available with the initial pressing of each album.

Also available are the albums Bandwagonesque, Thirteen, Grand Prix, and Songs From Northern Britain.



A1. I Need Direction

A2. I Can’t Find My Way Home

A3. Accidental Life

A4. Near You

A5. Happiness

A6. Dumb Dumb Dumb

B1. The Town And The City

B2. The Sunshines From You

B3. Straight & Narrow

B4. Cul De Sac

B5. My Uptight Life

B6. If I Never See You Again


Bonus 7” Single:

A1. Thaw Me (B-side from Dumb Dumb Dumb)

B2. One Thousand Lights (B-side from Dumb Dumb Dumb)

Additional information


LP & Bonus 7"