The Flaming Lips - King’s Mouth //Bella Union// (Released 19th July)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£26.99 – RSD Exclusive Gold Coloured Vinyl LP & DLC

£19.99 – Standard LP & DLC

Following a limited edition Record Store Day only release, The Flaming Lips fifteenth studio album King’s Mouth, will receive a full release.

King’s Mouth sees the iconoclastic outfit once again tread uncharted territory. These 12 new originals are threaded together by cinematic narration courtesy of The Clash’s Mick Jones. Additionally, the music parallels front man Wayne Coyne’s immersive art installation of the same name.

Introduced in 2015, the installation has showcased its psychedelic visuals and soundscapes through North America in museums such as the American Visionary Art Museum in Baltimore, the Pacific Northwest College of Art in Portland, and Wayne’s own creative space, The Womb, in Oklahoma City. A true handcrafted marvel, it consists of a giant metallic head that welcomes spectators inside. Once inside of the foam month, an LED lightshow begins in tandem with music from the album. Now, the record doubles as the sonic companion to the exhibit and allows fans to experience the aural side at any time.

Further expanding this multi-faceted world and detailing a fascinating creation myth, the accompanying literary tome, King’s Mouth: Immerse Heap Trip Fantasy Experience tells the story of the King’s Mouth through words and visuals by Coyne, adds yet another dimension to the project, which ranks among the band’s most ambitious thus far.

About the vision, Coyne wrote: “The King’s Mouth immersive/child-like qualities are born from the same spark and womb as The Flaming Lips live performances. The King’s Mouth adventure was made for humans of all sizes, ages, cultures, and religions”.


A1. We Don’t Know How And We Don’t Know Why

A2. The Sparrow

A3. Giant Baby

A4. Mother Universe

A5. How Many Times

A6. Electric Fire

B1. All For The Life Of The City

B2. Feedaloodum Beetle Dot

B3. Funeral Parade

B4. Dipped In Steel

B5. Mouth Of The King

B6. How Can A Head

Additional information


RSD Exclusive Gold Coloured Vinyl LP & DLC, Standard LP & DLC

request_a_record1 copy