THE NIGHTINGALES - "PIGS ON PURPOSE" (2021 RE-ISSUE) //Call on the Void// (Released 16th April)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£22.99 – 2xLP, Limited Edition Gatefold Blue Vinyl with Bonus Tracks (plus DL Code)

Ripe for rediscovery the sought-after and much acclaimed debut album from seminal Birmingham post punk revolutionaries The Nightingales.

This newly expanded ‘Pigs On Purpose’ is remastered by Stuart Moxham with the addition of early demos and non-album singles from this period. The reissue coincides with new ‘King Rocker’ documentary celebrating the life of lead singer Robert Lloyd – a film by Michael Cumming (Brass Eye, Toast Of London), comedian Stewart Lee and James Nicholls (Fire Films, Fire Records).

If you were with us at our Sea Change festival in 2019, you’ll know all about this!

The first vinyl pressing since 1983 on double blue vinyl with new liner notes.

An early punk classic, The Nightingales’ debut was a strange transmission released as the musical landscape was changing. They were the last important band with roots in the first blossoming of punk and became a major influence upon the explosion of mid-80s indie labels and associated bands.

The King Rocker documentary – as shown at Sea Change Festival 2019 – celebrating the life of lead singer Robert Lloyd is now playing on UK television.

“A perfect example of out-of-sync genius.” – AllMusic.

“Robert Lloyd’s deadpan, elegantly hilarious lyrics make Sistine Chapel shapes of mundane provincial minutiae.” – The Times.

“When it comes to outsider artists, Robert Lloyd is the living embodiment of the term.” – Record Collector.


1. Blood For Dirt
2. Start From Scratch
3. One Mistake
4. Well Done Underdog
5. The Crunch
6. The Hedonists Sigh
7. It Lives Again

8. Make Good
9. Don’t Blink
10. Joking Apart
11. Yeah, It’s Okay
12. Use Your Loaf
13. Blisters

14. Bristol Road Leads To Dachau (demo)
15. Hark My Love (demo)
16. Nowhere To Return (demo)
17. Blisters (demo)
18. Idiot Strength
19. Seconds

20. The Crunch (demo)
21. The Hedonists Sigh (demo)
22. Inside Out
23. Under The Lash
24. Paraffin Brain
25. Elvis, The Last Ten Days

Bonus tracks via download code
1. My Brilliant Career (live)
2. Which Hi-Fi? (live)
3. Paraffin Brain (live)
4. Use Your Loaf (live)

Additional information

Weight N/A

2xLP Coloured Gatefold Vinyl