Trentemøller - Obverse //In My Room// (Released 27th September)




£22.99 – Black & White Coloured Vinyl 2xLP

Anders Trentemøller is a well-known multi-instrumentalist, but perhaps the one he’s most adept at is the studio itself. Obverse is the result of him expanding that skill even further. Obverse often feels like an instrumental album because it started life as one, the driving philosophy being “what if the pressure of having to perform these songs live is removed entirely?”. Granting yourself the freedom to chase down every idea a studio offers comes with privileges. What happens when you reverse a synth part mid-verse? Why not send an entire track through a faulty distortion pedal? Inspiration reveals itself in a variety of forms and, before long, a simple chord progression contorts into something entirely new.

It’s a work method that yielded great results for the legendary German Kosmiche/Motorik experimentalists of the 1970’s. Intentional or not, Obverse embodies more than a little of that spirit without even a hint of pastiche. When you take the leap of faith, and jump into the river, you often drift in unintended directions, however. If something about a particular instrumental reminds you of Slowdive, the only reasonable thing to do is get Rachel Goswell on the phone to ask her if she’d like to have a go at singing on it. Trentemøller’s music has often given a respectfulnod to shoegaze, and now a bona de pioneer ofthe genre was in the mix on “Cold Comfort”.

So it only makes sense that Obverse would stray from its original roadmap. In due time, half of the nascent compositions featured singers, including Lina Tullgren, Lisbet Fritze, and jennylee of Warpaint, another band deeply influenced by dream pop. By fusing together a love of dream pop, dark synth-based music, film scores, and a deep connection with the stark Nordic panoramas, Anders has created an inimitable language. Ultimately Obverse resides in a genre all its own.


A1. Cold Comfort (feat. Rachel Goswell of Slowdive)

A2. Church Of Trees

B1. In The Garden (feat. Lina Tullgren)

B2. Foggy Figures

B3. Blue September (feat. Lisbet Fritze)

C1. Trnt

C2. One Last Kiss To Remember (feat. Lisbet Fritze)

D1. Sleeper

D2. Try A Little (feat. jennylee of Warpaint)

D3. Giants

Additional information


Black & White Coloured Vinyl 2xLP