Various Artists / Frightened Rabbit - Tiny Changes: A Celebration Of The Midnight Organ Fight //Atlantic// (Released 12th July)




£22.99 – 2xLP

Frightened Rabbit are a Scottish indie rock band from Selkirk, formed in 2003. Initially a solo project for vocalist and guitarist Scott Hutchison, the line-up currently consists of Grant Hutchison (drums), Billy Kennedy (guitar, bass), Andy Monaghan (guitar, keyboards), and Simon Liddell (guitar). From 2004 the band were based in Glasgow.

Frightened Rabbit’s first studio album, Sing The Greys (2006), was recorded as a duo by the Hutchison brothers; the band became a three-piece with the addition of guitarist Billy Kennedy for its second studio album, The Midnight Organ Fight (2008). The album was released to strongly positive reviews and extensive touring, with guitarist and keyboardist Andy Monaghan joining the band to flesh-out its live performances.

The band went on to release their third album, The Winter Of Mixed Drinks (2010); followed by two EPs, A Frightened Rabbit EP (2011) and State Hospital (2012), before the release of their fourth studio album, Pedestrian Verse in 2013. A critical and commercial success in the UK, the album peaked at number nine on the UK Albums Chart, with additional guitarist Simon Liddell joining the band on its subsequent tour. Disillusioned from touring, Hutchison, Monaghan, and Liddell recorded a studio album without the band, entitled Owl John (2014). Gordon Skene departed from the band in early 2014, and the band recorded Painting Of A Panic Attack the following year with producer Aaron Dessner (The National), in New York, with Liddell joining the band as a full contributing member.

Scott Hutchison tragically died in May 2018 after going missing. But even before Scott died, an idea was formed to celebrate 10 years of their seminal album The Midnight Organ Fight by asking some of their talented buds in music to take a crack at their own versions of a song on the album.

The whole album was recorded and was due to be released last summer, but put on hold after Scott’s untimely passing. The band have decided they still want to release the record as a testament to the album, and a tribute to their friend Scott.


A1. Biffy Clyro – The Modern Leper

A2. Oxford Collapse – I Feel Better

A3. Fiskur – Good Arms vs Bad Arms

A4. Right On Dynamite – Fast Blood

A5. Josh Ritter – Old Old Fashioned

B1. Wintersleep – The Twist

B2. The Philistines Jr. – Bright Pink Bookmark

B3. Craig Finn – Head Rolls Off

B4. Katie Harkin & Sarah Silverman – My Backwards Walk

C1. Benjamin Gibbard – Keep Yourself Warm

C2. Inletts – Extrasupervery

C3. Daughter – Poke

C4. The Twilight Sad – Floating In The Forth

C5. Aaron Dessner & Lauren Mayberry – Who’d You Kill Now?

D1. Julien Baker – The Modern Leper

D2. Piano Bar Fight – The Twist

D3. Manchester Orchestra – My Backwards Walk