Baroness - Gold & Grey //Abraxan Hymns// (Released 14th June)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email


£24.99 – Indies Only Red & Blue Coloured Vinyl 2xLP

£21.99 – Standard 2xLP

“Our goal is, was, and will always be to write increasingly superior, more honest and compelling songs, and to develop a more unique and challenging sound” offers Baroness founder, guitar player and vocalist John Baizley. “I’m sure we have just finished our best, most adventurous album to date. We dug incredibly deep, challenged ourselves and recorded a record I’m positive we could never again replicate”.

“I consider myself incredibly fortunate to know Sebastian, Nick and Gina as both my bandmates and my friends. They have pushed me to become a better songwriter, musician and vocalist. We’re all extremely excited for this release, which includes quite a few ‘firsts’ for the band, and we’re thrilled to be back on tour to play these psychotic songs for our fans. Expect some surprises”.

Featuring John Baizley (vocals/guitar), Gina Gleason (guitar), Nick Jost (bass) and Sebastian Thomson (drums), Baroness received a GRAMMY Award nomination for Best Metal Performance for “Shock Me” from the 2015 album Purple. For follow up album Gold & Grey, the band once again found themselves working with Purple producer Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, Mogwai), sequestering themselves at Fridmann’s remote upstate New York Tarbox Road Studio. The 17-track album ushered in two significant changes: a decidedly different recording process and guitar player Gina Gleason’s debut on a Baroness recording.

The band, who tracked portions of the vocals, guitars and overdubs in Baizley’s home-basement studio, another first for them, eschewed their normal routine of entering the studio with meticulously detailed plans and instead opted for a looser, more improvisational approach that resulted in their most collaborative and emotionally evocative release to date.

The Indies Only Double LP features one Red Coloured Vinyl and one Blue Coloured Vinyl disc, whilst on both formats the D-Side features an Etching by John Baizley.


A1. Front Towards Enemy

A2. I’m Already Gone

A3. Seasons

A4. Sevens

A5. Tourniquet

A6. Anchor’s Lament

B1. Throw Me An Anchor

B2. I’d Do Anything

B3. Blankets of Ash

B4. Emmett – Radiating Light

B5. Cold-Blooded Angels

C1. Crooked Mile

C2. Broken Halo

C3. Can Oscura

C4. Borderlines

C5. Assault On East Falls

C6. Pale Sun

D-Side features an Etching by John Baizley

Additional information


Indies Only Red & Blue Coloured Vinyl 2xLP, Standard 2xLP

request_a_record1 copy