His Name Is Alive - All The Mirrors In The House (Home Recordings 1979 - 1986) //Disciples// (Released 21st June)




£19.99 – Clear Vinyl LP & DLC

Transcendental tape loops and bedroom ambient dream states from the teenage mind of Warren Defever aka His Name Is Alive. All The Mirrors In The House is the first of three projected releases of very early works by the Detroit-based savant, prior to signing to 4AD in the late-1980s.

With help transferring ageing cassettes and annotating the results from Shelley Salant of Tyvek, the unearthed results are revelatory – a gorgeous sequence of gently decaying tone float made with an incredibly primitive DIY set-up.

As Defever recounts in the liner notes: “By age ten, I had a tape recorder and was using it to capture the sounds of nearby lakes, thunderstorms, and my older brother’s LP collection played at the wrong speeds. As a teenager, I got deep into all kinds of music – punk, new age, blues – and played bass in the high school jazz band, as well as studying Bach chorale harmonization and counterpoint. My first album consists of rhythm tracks made of loops of the next door neighbor raking leaves and shoveling the driveway with echoey guitars and vocals with lyrics about ghosts”.

Inner sleeve essay and interview by Mike McGonigal, the founder of Chemical Balance magazine and YETI publishing, and the author of acclaimed books on My Bloody Valentine and Galaxie 500.

His Name Is Alive has had over a hundred releases since their first cassette in 1986. HNIA spent 13 years recording for the legendary label 4AD and sold 100,000+ records, toured the world, received gold and platinum records for soundtracking Tom Cruise’s nervous breakdown in the movie Jerry Maguire and collaborated on two short films with famed animators the Quay Brothers, and name-checked by David Bowie as one of his favourite artists. Warren Defever continues to live and work in Detroit – he has recently recorded Universal Eyes (2018) for Lower Floor Music and is one of the engineers heading up Third Man’s recently opening mastering studio.


A1. Piano Rev

A2. Lliadin

A3. Something About Hope

A4. All The Mirrors In The House

A5. Because Piano

A6. Rememory

A7. Tape Sound

A8. Guitar Rev

B1. Fine As Feathers

B2. Reflection Pool

B3. Equally Divided

B4. Tape Slow

B5. Outside The Window

B6. Echo Lake

B7. F Choir

Additional information


Clear Vinyl LP & DLC