MODERN NATURE – “ANNUAL” //Bella Union// (Released 5th June)


Share this:

£19.99 – 1xLP, Mustard Yellow Vinyl (plus DL Code)

Following their sold-out show at London’s Omeara, Modern Nature bring us a new 7-track mini-album entitled Annual, released via Bella Union.

Modern Nature’s debut album – How to Live, released in 2019, crossed the urban and rural into each other. Plaintive cello strains melted into motorik beats. Pastoral field recordings drifted through looping guitar figures. Rising melodies shone with reflective saxophone accents, placing the record somewhere between the subtle mediations of Talk Talk, the stirring folk of Anne Briggs and the atmospheric waves of Harmonia. The album was met with universal acclaim and featured in a number of publication’s ‘Best Of 2019’ lists. As the group took the album out on the road, Modern Nature became something even more expansive.

Their new mini-album annual, recorded in December 2019 at Gizzard Studio in London, is another step towards something more liberated and a world away from the sound of jack cooper’s previous bands.


  1. Dawn
  2. Flourish
  3. Mayday
  4. Halo
  5. Harvest
  6. Ritual
  7. Wynter

1xLP Mustard Yellow Vinyl