Neil Young - "Official Release Series Vol 4 – Discs 13,14,20 & 21" (Released 29th April 2022)




//Warner Records//

£97.99 – 4xLP Boxset

The fourth instalment in Neil Young’s Official Release Series (ORS): a box set that includes his classic ‘80s records Hawks & Doves, Re•ac•tor, and This Note’s for You, as well as his Eldorado EP, previously released only in Japan and Australia.

The ORS Vol 4 collects an eclectic set of decade-spanning sounds. Hawks & Doves (1980) revisits his folk roots and explores some of his most country-leaning offerings; the blistering Re•ac•tor (1981) showcases a stomping set of heavy, overdriven rock with Crazy Horse; and This Note’s for You (1988) casts Young as a big band leader, belting out intricately arranged blues. The Eldorado EP (1989) is full of feral distortion and earthy crunch featuring Young backed by The Restless (Chad Cromwell and Rick Rosas). It includes two thundering tracks — “Cocaine Eyes” and “Heavy Love”— not available on any other album.

ORS Vol 4 collects a large swath of his diverse and compelling ‘80s work, testifying to the legendary songwriter’s gift for sonic shape-shifting.


LP1 Hawks & Doves

Little wing
The old homestead
Lost in space
Captain kennedy
Stayin’ power
Union man
Comin’ apart at every nail
Hawks & doves

LP2 Re•ac•tor

Opera star
Surfer joe and moe the sleaze
Get back on it
Southern pacific
Motor city
Rapid transit

LP3 This note’s for you

Ten men workin’
This note’s for you
Coupe de ville
Life in the city
Married man
Sunny inside
Can’t believe your lyin’
Hey hey
One thing

LP4 Eldorado

Cocaine eyes
Don’t cry
Heavy love
On broadway

Additional information

Weight N/A