Free shipping on all orders over £60 // Earn loyalty points = Money off Records


The Streets – The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light (Released 13th October 2023)




//679 / Warner Music UK Ltd//


£28.99 – Select Retailers Exclusive Ltd Edition Coke Bottle Green Vinyl


£22.99 – 180g heavyweight 12″ black vinyl


Twenty years on from their debut album ‘Original Pirate Material’, which hit the charts in 2002,  changing UKG & hip-hop forever, Mike Skinner still finds himself an iconic pioneer of British music.


First full The Streets album since 2011


The new Album has been in the works for 5 years with all songs written by Mike Skinner unlike the previously released 2020 mixtape ‘None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive’ which was a collaborative project.


Mike Skinner will also announce a full 80 minute feature film to be released alongside the album and screened in selective Everyman cinema around the UK throughout September & October.


The album is a classic Streets album – filled with Skinner’s trademark lyrical wizardry and beats honed over a decade of building his other career as a legitimate bass/rap DJ in clubs – all songs written by Skinner but featuring vocal contributions from longtime collaborators Kevin Mark Trail and Robert Harvey, as well as a track featuring Teef. The songs on the album soundtrack the film and also play the role of narrator of the film at times – and whilst neither the album or film exist without each other – both can be enjoyed separately.


Troubled Waters is the lead single from The Streets forthcoming new album The Darker The Shadows The Brighter The Lights featuring vocals by original Streets collaborator Kevin Mark Trail. A return to the classic Streets sound with Anthemic uplifting synths and D&B breaks




Side A


  1. Too Much Yayo
  2. Money Isn’t Everything
  3. Walk Of Shame
  4. Something To Hide
  5. Shake Hands With Shadows
  6. Not A Good Idea
  7. Bright Sunny Day


Side B


  1. The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light
  2. Funny Dream
  3. Gonna Hurt When This Is Over
  4. Kick The Can
  5. Each Day Gives
  6. Someone Else’s Tune
  7. Troubled Waters
  8. Good Old Daze


Additional information


180g Black LP, Ltd Edition Coke Bottle Green Vinyl